Skip to main content

How Do I?                 Tompkins A-Z     

Planning - Contact Us

Department Staff

Department staff can be contacted at (607) 274-5560 or by emailing a specific staff person (by clicking on their name).

Our offices are located in the Old Courthouse, also known as the Daniel D. Tompkins Building.

Katherine Borgella, AICP  --  Commissioner of Planning and Sustainability

Katie oversees all department operations and activities, with a focus on implementing the County Comprehensive Plan.

Scott D. Doyle, AICP  --  Associate Planner

Scott's core work areas are natural resources, climate adaptation, and community planning.

Nick Helmholdt, AICP -- Principal Planner - Tourism Program Director

Nick's core work area is tourism planning and management.

Joan Jurkowich  --  Planning Administrator

Joan's core work areas are community planning and departmental budget and administration.

Darby Kiley  --  Associate Planner

Darby's core work areas are water resources and community planning.

Jennifer Luu  --  Principal Account Clerk/Typist

Jennifer manages all accounting activities in the department and plays a role in a variety of administrative functions.

Kristin McCarthy  --  Administrative Assistant III 

Kristin provides support to the advisory boards associated with the Department of Planning and Sustainability as well as to the Tourism Program.

Megan McDonald  --  Deputy Commissioner of Planning and Sustainability

Megan plays a major role in all department activities, with a focus on housing and sustainability.